Farewell to Jack Landis

This is becoming a habit that I don’t like. I have had to say goob-bye to three of my gunsmith friends in the last couple of years. This most recent is a guy, I truly considered a friend, drinking buddy and mentor. I put off writing this for a bit, Jack and his wife Len’ee are important to me so it was hard to even start this process.

I met Jack through my affiliation with AGI. I have done a couple of instructional courses for them and have written for the monthly magazine they put out to the membership. Since Jack did the editing for the GunTech Magazine he frequently called me either for content, or to ask my opinion when answering questions for AGI students. Consequently, we built on our time together at SHOT Show every year, to become good friends.

Jack was a decorated Army, Viet Nam combat veteran. As such, he was always supportive of veterans and it seemed to me that his eyes lit up a little more when he was talking with one.

I was lucky enough to shoot with Jack a few times over the years. He was good at spotting the details about guns that really matter. He understood the mechanics of guns and how to explain them to students. I can tell you from personal experience there are few people who can do both well.

Left to right: Bob Dunlap, Jack Landis, Ken Brooks and Fred Zeglin.
Clearly, Bob had just delivered a quip we all enjoyed.

Jack was big in stature and even bigger in personality. I will certainly miss his jokes and laughter. He was the kind of guy who could find something to laugh about in most any situation. Something I admire and wish I was better at.

Jack left behind a wonderful family, wife, kids and yes grandkids. I know they will all miss him. When it comes to his work he left some big shoes to fill. While things will inevitably change as a result of Jack’s passing, I am excited to see where things go, as I know Jack would have been too.

Jack liked to tell people jokingly, “I know the secrets of the Universe and How Women Think.” I can see Len’ee’s eyes rolling right now. I have decided that I will steal Jack’s line and use if from time to time. I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t mind.

If you would like to send a memorial in Jack’s honor, please donate to the NRA’s Youth Shooting Programs in his name.

Until we meet again old friend.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Gunsmithing

One response to “Farewell to Jack Landis

  1. Donald Tolleson

    😢

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.